Goldilocks and the Three Goats

The stroller has a duo-cab, thick rubber all-terrain 10-inch diameter double wheels, and a cup holder.  Our new neighbor pushes it and its two precious children through the cedar arches of our front gate and down to the cabbage patch.  The little 3-year-old girl has crystal blue eyes and a glittery barrette in her curly blonde hair and I think of her as Goldilocks.

IMG_NEW

Goldilocks sits directly under her mother with a view of her new 4-week-old brother and sucks her pacifier.  She doesn’t get to see much except Baby, who sucks his own pacifier.  I’ve heard her outside playing, so I know she has a voice.

The Bearded One and the dad linger at the new deck construction,

flowers, deck and garden 008

and the mom and I stand next to the stroller by the onions gone to seed and the cabbages

flowers, deck and garden 007

and talk about childbirth, the stress of moving, and eating healthier.  I can’t keep my eyes off of the glorious Goldilocks, and she never takes her eyes off of her brother.

Then, quick as lightning, Baby loses his pacifier and Goldie crams it back into his mouth.  He winces.  “Gently!” says the mom.

IMG_NEW

I bend down and chop a big green cabbage at the ground so there’s a long stem left.  I snap off the outer leaves and, “Voila!” I say, “A cabbage balloon!”  Goldie watches quietly.  She is not impressed.  Or the pacifier is really really good.   So I lop off the stem, the mom thanks me and tucks the whole thing into a lower back compartment in the SUV stroller and we head up to the goats.

IMG_NEW

The men follow us up the hill, and I hear the Bearded One telling about how weasels got all of our Cornish Rock meat birds four weeks ago.  The new neighbors have chickens, too, they say.

“Would you like to pet a chicken?” I ask Goldilocks.  She casts her sea blue eyes upon me and sucks, uninterested.

“She’s been around chickens all her life,” the dad explains.

Still, I go and fetch Leah, our Rhode Island Red and one of our best acts.  She is such a beautiful red color and always up for a petting.  “Ta-da!” I say, as Leah dutifully crouches down to be picked up, and I pet her like a cat.  The dad is smitten, but not Goldie.  She turns her head away and studies the inside of the stroller before resting her eyes back on Baby.

The goats are scared to death of strangers and hightailed it across the upper pasture when we first crested the hill.

IMG_NEW

Now Pearl stands atop Goat Mountain, a four-foot high cement hill the Bearded One made.

IMG_NEW

The neighbor mom is charmed by the goats, and, behold, Goldie has noticed the goats and is interested!

“They are wild animals,” the mom says to Goldilocks, as she peers around the high padded side of the stroller.  All three goats stare back at her.

“Let’s see if we can get one to come over to the fence, though,” I say, and Goldie looks me in the eye — Hop to it.

In the barn we keep a jar of almonds, the most delicious treat to our goats.

IMG_NEW

I fetch it and shake it and all goats freeze.  I walk back outside the fence, stand next to the stroller and shake the jar again.  I open the jar and all three tremble with desire.

IMG_NEW

Sage is the biggest and the leader only because Pearl hasn’t had a baby.  Mama goats are supreme, but in our herd it’s Sage, then Pearl a close second, then LaLa comes in last.  Sage ventures straight over but stops halfway.  Pearl steps off of Goat Mountain, and then stops.  LaLa moves laterally, behind a group of cedars, and then zooms in ahead of Sage.

Goldie watches as I hold a nut through the wires.

IMG_NEW

LaLa’s soft lips quiver around one nut and then another, and then, glory be, Goldilocks cracks a huge “just right” smile out the sides of her pacifier.  Her eyes crinkle and I hear a wee little giggle.

“Oh, LaLa!” I say, “You have such big lips!”  He nibbles as many more as he can before Sage arrives and plows in for his due share.

It’s getting dark, we say our good-byes, and the new neighbors are almost to the easement, when I decide to give it one more try.  “Good-Bye, Goldilocks!” I sing out.

“Bye!”  I see a flash of blonde hair as she looks back over the side of the distant stroller.

IMG_NEW

14 responses to “Goldilocks and the Three Goats

  1. Sounds like you’ve made a new friend. I didn’t know that goats loved almonds! I love that shaking the jar brings them to attention like a puppy dog. Pavlov would be proud. 😉
    I’m glad to hear that the woods will resound with the laughter of children once again.

    • Thanks, Becky, and yes, goats are actually pretty picky eaters and finding that amazing treat took awhile, but it is indeed almonds.

      And speaking of puppies, you mentioned that you were getting a puppy soon so Desi could teach her/him the ways. We talk about that with Ruby, although I don’t think she’s in the mood to wrangle with a pup. I look forward to seeing how that goes for ya’ll. 🙂

      • Well, Daisy is about a year old. So I guess not technically a pup, but comparatively so. I’ll let you know how it works out.

  2. I love the way you weave the story. I can just ‘see’ the unimpressed Goldilocks. But I love the description of the goats jostling for position. Being your neighbor would be a big plus in my book.

    • Thanks, Robbyn, and from what I can tell reading your FB posts, you would be a great and handy neighbor, too! Jamming, chickens, gardening…your farmlet is happenin’. 🙂

  3. Aaaaaaah….nothing like getting a kid to talk to you for the first time! Very satisfying end to the story 😀

    • So true, Erika! Little Goldie is a bit shy, but her psyche is also preoccupied with this new baby…I’m looking forward to watching her grow this year.

  4. Waaayyyyyyy adorable!!!! Making new friends
    on the Farmlet!!!

  5. You are going to have to work a bit harder to gain the respect of goldilocks Christi, she is a wise spirit in a young body by the sounds of it…a mere cabbage isn’t going to cut the mustard and develop a bridge of trust…Yup…goldilocks and the three goats, a wonderful Olalla tumble of mixed quintessential fairy tales all jumbled into one…the story of your life girl! You won fair maid in this case, goldilocks will be back for more adventures on the farmlet. Congratulations on gaining real neighbours, batman was going to be a hard act to follow but goldilocks is promising to be an entirely interesting new chapter in the life of the farmlet 🙂

    • lol “a mere cabbage isn’t going to cut the mustard and develop a bridge of trust” so true, even though it is excellent cabbage! And the story of my life is a jumble of Grimm and Disney and a few other myths for spice….like yours, my antipodean twin. 🙂

      • I think my life story is something cooked up in the mind of Stephen King! ;). Glad he has mellowed a bit lately, I don’t know that apre 50 would be a pleasant place to be living the early Stephen Kind existence ;). (although…Earl does bear a striking resemblance to Cujo and our little 4 x 4 does strange things when we don’t ask it to…)

  6. Christine Widman

    There – enticing the little Goldilocks with your cabbage balloons, your pet chicken, and finally Lala’s almond licking lips did the trick!
    Yay.
    Here – my brother’s clan came for a week of family time. I enticed his 3 grandsons and our two grandies with a twilight-turning into night “flashlight walk” into Sabino Canyon. All the kiddos LOVE this – Like an Indiana Jones adventure.
    Their biggest treat…they saw a javelina. Not as lip luscious as Lala but certainly a 4 legged beastie.
    I’m glad that you have a new neighbor family!
    C

    • LaLa is our little javelina, intrepid and curious and children’s delight. Glad your reunion was so magical. I like the “flashlight walk” idea and might just use it some day. Kisses from Olalla to Tucson!

Leave a Reply

